More Comfort: Banana Bread.


~*Plate belongs to my 101-year old grandmother…what could be more comforting with my banana bread? πŸ˜‰

With a couple bananas looking past their prime and needing a snack for my mom and I to indulge in around mid-morning while taking a break from staining the outside of my house (food rewards are the best…), I found myself sipping coffee and browsing FoodGawker for banana bread recipes.

I ended up doing what happens sometimes and borrowing here and there from the dozen or so recipes I look at — the parts I like best — and trying it out.

Here’s everything I used for our yummy snack:

A better view of the dry ingredients. Doesn’t this look like it’s about to be something wonderful? *tummy growl*

After I added my dry ingredients onto the wet ones, I seriously considered stopping there, mixing it up, and eating it as it was, without the egg. It looked SO completely delicious and it smelled even better. Maybe I was just hungry. Maybe I should have eaten my Wheaties, instead of just having coffee for breakfast!

I keep some butter at room temperature, and some in the fridge. I started the room-temp butter upon embarking my gluten-free biscuit perfection journey, and now I continue it because it’s just SO convenient to have softened butter at my disposal, as opposed to waiting for it to soften, or worse yet, melting it on the stovetop or microwave to speed things along.

I had to work quickly this morning because I had limited time to experiment, so I went with a half ‘n half wheat & unbleached all-purpose flour combo, instead of taking time to sift flours to make my gluten-free flour mix.

I was also interested in the addition of plain yogurt. This is my first time making banana bread…maybe it’s in EVERY recipe for banana bread! I knew it would make things super-moist without any sacrifice for flavor or calories.

Totally easy, foolproof, and quick to mix (pending your butter is already soft)! Just mix, set a timer, and bake to perfection! πŸ˜€

Now go ahead…go buy some bananas to let sit out for a few days so you can have some of this goodness!

Ingredients for Banana Bread:

– 2 bananas past their prime
– 1 cup wheat flour + 1 cup all-purpose flour (I use unbleached)
– 3/4 c sugar (I used brown)
– 3/4 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1/3 c plain yogurt (I use Oikos greek yogurt)
– 2 eggs
– 6 tbsp butter

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  2. Grease baking dish (I sprayed with canola oil).
  3. Put eggs into a small bowl & beat lightly.
  4. Using a fork, combine flours (if using different kinds) in a separate bowl.
  5. Using a fork, combine the rest of the dry ingredients into the flour bowl.
  6. Put all of your wet ingredients (except eggs) into a large mixing bowl and mix thoroughly.
  7. Stir egg into wet ingredients until just combined.
  8. Gently stir flour into wet ingredients until just combined (lumps are okay!).
  9. Pour batter into greased baking dish and shake dish side to side once or twice to level batter in dish.
  10. Set timer for 60 minutes & don’t even bother checking on it. Just have faith and get some butter ready for when it comes out!
  11. Best both warm & the next day. πŸ˜‰
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

